PLSO Surveyors of the Past Award

Surveyors of the Past Award

2014 John C. Metzger

Edward P. Gibbons

2013 Edward and Joseph J. Heyl

George Allen Shuster

George M. Carter

2012  Jack A. Hamilton

 Wilbur H. “Wib” Mechwart

 2011 Ahaz Merchant

2010 Myron Tuttle Jones

2009 Robert E. Thompson

2008 John J. Cunning

 William Albert Stinchcomb

 Bernard D. “Tim” Westfall

2007 Bryan Cox

 Cecil E. Neff Sr.

2006 Larry Winfred Pennington

2005 James Eaton

2004 Raymond William Gasbarre

 Col. James Kilbourne

 Charles J. Neff

2003 Thomas Worthington

2002 William J. Haas Jr.

 Gen. Rufus Putnam

2001 Ebenezer Buckingham

2000 Howard R. Craig

 Louis F. Mennitt

1999  Albert O. “A. O.” Myers Jr.

 Carl F. Swartzbaugh

1998  Lucas Sullivant

1997  Augustus Porter

1996  Newton E. Smith

1995  Washington Galloway

1994 John Bever

1993 Samuel D. Henkle

Thomas Hutchins

Francis Alvin Runkle

1992 James Elsworth House

Sherman T. Swigart

1991  John Mathews

1990 Gerald M. Barton

Earl Richard Peterson

Willard Orvin Weir

1989 Walter W. Graf

Ralph Lash Woolpert

1988 Dan L. Dodson

 Robert W. Freels

 Seth Pease

1987 Thaleon Blake

Levi Davis

Forest E. “Woody” Mills

1986  Sol Bauer

 Dumont “Dewey” T. Kingsley

Nathaniel Massie

1985 Houston Coates

John A. Davis

George M. Garrett

1984 Roscoe M. Rice

Paul T. Sayler

Marcus Schuyler

1983 Joseph Gest

Hubert F. Helburg

1982  Israel Ludlow

1981  Jedediah Cole

Samuel Craig

Cyril W. Neff

William H. Pinkerton

Christoper E. Sherman

1980  James Mackey

Charles W. Root

James Crew Wonders

1979  Frank L. Krause

Foster F. Wright




Cleveland Chapter CPD Event April 13

The Cleveland Chapter will host a CPD class on Saturday, April 13 

Click here for information and registration form

PLSO CPD Workshop April 26, Aurora, OH

PLSO will host a 7 hour CPD workshop on Friday, April 26 at The Bertram Inn in Aurora, OH.

Click here for the PDF Registration Form

Click here for ONLINE REGISTRATION with Credit Card

(ATTENTION non-members!!  Register with the PDF form to avoid additional processing fees – those are waived as a benefit of membership!)

Ohio Valley Chapter Hosts CPD Workshop

The Ohio Valley Chapter will host a CPD Workshop on Friday, May 10 at Belmont College in St. Clairsville.  Click here for the registration form.

Winners of 2018 NCEES Surveying Education Award announced

University of Akron receives $25,000 grand prize

NCEES is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 NCEES Surveying Education Award. This annual award recognizes surveying programs that best reflect the organization’s mission to advance licensure for surveyors in order to safeguard the health, safety, and welfare of the public.

NCEES awarded the University of Akron’s Surveying and Mapping program the $25,000 grand prize. Six additional prizes were awarded to qualifying programs to assist with each program’s continued efforts to promote the importance and value of surveying licensure. The award jury considered criteria such as student outcomes and involvement, outreach and recruitment, and the promotion of licensure. The award jury met June 28, 2018, in Clemson, South Carolina, to select the winners.

NCEES Surveying Education Award juror Glen Thurow, P.S, stated, “The University of Akron’s three-pronged approach to program growth is to invest in technology, scholarship support, and strategic marketing. This is an excellent example of how to position an institution for the future.”

The jury selected six programs to receive the following awards:

$15,000 winners :  Idaho State University; Oregon Institute of Technology; University of Maine

 $10,000 winners: Central New Mexico Community College; East Tennessee State University; Troy University

More information about the 2019 NCEES Surveying Education Award cycle will be posted at when available.

State Board Issues Notice Regarding C of A Renewals

Attention Certificate of Authorization Holders

Auto-generated delinquent notice emails were issued to all firms that have not submitted a renewal application or to firms that have renewal applications pending approval. If your firm has submitted a renewal application through the eLicense Portal, you may continue to practice until you hear otherwise from the Board. You will receive an email from the Board stating the additional documentation needed if your firm renewal application is incomplete. If your application is incomplete, your firm will be asked to cease and desist until the outstanding documentation is received. All completed applications will receive an approval email with the wall certificate once the application has been reviewed.

The Board has received approximately 1000 renewal applications in the last several business days and is working diligently to process all applications in a timely manner. We appreciate your patience and apologize for any inconvenience as we work out the kinks of our new online system.


The PLSO Standards Committee has been working diligently to research, compile and incorporate member comments and suggestions to the Ohio Administrative Code’s sections for Minimum Survey Standards.  The committee has now prepared a DRAFT of the results of its work, and is seeking comments from the PLSO membership on the document for presentation to the Executive Committee.


Comments should be emailed to:

and must be received by Wednesday, July 11

NGS Releases Blueprint for NATRF 2022

NGS has posted a document detailing the plans for NATRF 2022 project.

CLICK HERE to view the information.


Professional Land Surveyors of Ohio | Copyright 2017 | Privacy Policy
150 East Wilson Bridge Road, Suite 300, Worthington, OH 43085 | Phone (614) 761-2313 | Fax (614) 761-2317 |